There Was the Sound of Whales

There was the sound of whales
Singing last night
And of muffled fireworks
Traveling through water

I think
Upon closer inspection
I would have realized
It was a party

Just across the street
Where the light is orange
Like a dystopian thunder
Striking and contained
By a portion of the blackest
Darkness
A light in a black hole
Of a coal city

My neighbours might be robots
Or servants on their night off
Or both

They have only one plant
That has survived for many years
And has been the only living thing
I have ever seen by their window

If they are in fact they
If they are not sent by some secret Gatsby
To spy on me
While I believe I am looking at them

Leave a Reply

