I sent him updates 

He would never reply to me anymore
I sent him updates
Like talking to myself
Like a journal

Went to Mexico
Got a tan
I look like honey
I want us in white sheets
At sunset
I want you to admire my skin

Contemplated suicide
Remembered I was a coward

Drank tea all day
Felt good
Now wired
Still unemployed

I got an email from another ghost
I’ve got a few
Funny how you’re glad
To hear from them

“Sorry to reply so late
…this email was three years late
to reach me.”

I’m dreaming of running away
To a foreign country
But reality could always slap me
With corrupt government officials
Rats
Tiny apartments
Dirty water
Overpriced food

I wonder if he’ll reply
To Neruda poems
It worked once

Leave a Reply

