Poets too

We’re walking along
some rocky beach
in the middle of the fucking night
with a flashlight
to see a turtle hatch eggs
in a hole

I’m dressed like a slut
because I’m always thinking of sex
While he gets turned on
by the plop of turtle eggs

I have to take my heels off
to walk in the sand
and he’s mad that we’re walking slow
and he has to support me
by holding my hand

They’re always the same
The science freaks
Never picked up a book
in their life
“Yea my girlfriend writes poems.
Don’t know what the hell
goes on inside her head.
But we understand each other.
It’s all fine. Dysfunctional but happy,
ain’t that just love.”

They think they’re poets too

Leave a Reply

