When I wasn’t ready yet

We were like two thieves that summer
Both with severe tempers
Waiting for something

I watched you
Tie knots on your boat
Swim at night time

You were strong
Frightening
In the silver water
Leaping like a needlefish

It takes only a thought
To turn the comfort
of the dark water
into an ominous gulf

Swimming faster
My soul in my throat
The squeeze of death coming
I want nothing to touch me

Later looking back
at the calm water
Never quite sure
whether I imagined
it meant to take me

Leave a Reply

